News from the Heights

If you need more information, call Le Moyne's Office of Communications at 315-445-4555 or contact via email Joe Della Posta or Molly McCarthy.

Read past issues of the magazine



Le Moyne College Announces Speaker, Honorary Degree Recipients for 62nd Commencement Ceremony on May 20

SYRACUSE, N.Y. (For Immediate Release) … Le Moyne College will hold its 62nd commencement ceremony on Sunday, May 20, at 10:30 a.m. on the Le Moyne campus. John B. King Jr., commissioner of education for the state of New York, will be the commencement speaker and will be awarded the honorary degree of doctor of laws at the ceremony.

Margaret Mary Fitzpatrick, S.C., Ed.D., Lynn-Beth Satterly, M.D. and Alex Maskey will each be awarded the honorary degree of doctor of humane letters at the ceremony.

John B. King Jr. oversees more than 7,000 public and independent elementary and secondary schools, serving 3.1 million students, and hundreds of other education institutions across New York state, including higher education, libraries and museums. He has been a strong voice for education reform and was a driving force in New York’s successful Race to the Top application. After losing both of his parents to illness by age 12, King went on to earn an undergraduate degree from Harvard, a law degree from Yale and a doctorate in education from Columbia. He co-founded Roxbury Prep, a top charter school in Massachusetts, and served five years there as co-director. He then helped to start Uncommon Schools, which now has 28 schools in three states. He is the youngest person ever to hold the position of commissioner and also is the first African-American, as well as the first person of Puerto Rican descent to hold the post.

Margaret Mary Fitzpatrick has served as president of St. Thomas Aquinas College since 1995. She previously served as senior vice president at St. John’s University. She holds a bachelor’s degree from Boston State College, a master’s degree from Fordham and a master’s degree and doctorate in education from Columbia University. Active in the community, Fitzpatrick served as volunteer chairperson of the United Way. She also serves on the board of directors of Nyack Hospital Foundation and has been named to the board of trustees of Catholic University of America. In addition, she was appointed to the board of directors of the Association of Catholic Colleges and Universities.

Lynn-Beth Satterly, M.D., is on the faculty of Upstate Medical University, where she is also part of a team of family physicians serving the community. She established the Amaus Health Services at the Cathedral of the Immaculate Conception in Syracuse, which serves those who are financially and medically marginalized. She earned a bachelor’s degree from the College of Saint Elizabeth and was honored by the college with its Mother Xavier Award in 2009. She received her doctor of medicine degree from UMDNJ Robert Wood Johnson Medical School. Satterly also holds a master’s degree in education from Syracuse University.

Alex Maskey is a member of the Northern Ireland Assembly, representing the residents of South Belfast. He has previously served as a member of the Belfast City Council and as the mayor of Belfast, the first member of Sinn Féin to hold that important post. Maskey has played a leading role in the Irish peace process and in seeing that the goals of the Good Friday Agreement are reached. Maskey was educated at the Belfast Institute for Further and Higher Education, and early in his career he worked in Belfast docks as a laborer and barman.


posted on: 4/17/2012