News from the Heights

If you need more information, call Le Moyne's Office of Communications at 315-445-4555 or contact via email Joe Della Posta or Molly McCarthy.

Read past issues of the magazine



Le Moyne College to Host Hearing of New York Education Reform Commission

SYRACUSE, N.Y. (For Immediate Release) … Le Moyne College will host a hearing of the New York Education Reform Commission on Tuesday, Aug. 14, from 1 – 4 p.m. in Grewen Auditorium. Fred P. Pestello, Ph.D., president of Le Moyne College, will offer the opening remarks.

Gov. Cuomo established the commission in April and tasked its members with the following objectives: To find ways to improve teacher recruitment and performance; improve student achievement; examine education funding, distribution and costs; increase parent and family engagement in education; examine the problem of high-need and low-wealth school communities; find the best use of technology in the classroom; and examine New York state’s education system to ensure it meets the needs of students while respecting the taxpayer.

Members of the commission include:

Richard (Dick) Parsons, Retired Chairman, Citigroup, Chair of the New NY Education Reform Commission
Randi Weingarten, President, American Federation of Teachers, AFL-CIO
Geoffrey Canada, Founder & CEO, Harlem Children's Zone
Irma Zardoya, President & CEO, NYC Leadership Academy
Elizabeth Dickey, President, Bank Street College of Education
Mary Anne Schmitt-Carey, President, Say Yes to Education
Lisa Belzberg, Founder & Chair Emeritus, PENCIL
Michael Rebell, Co-Founder & Executive Director, Campaign for Educational Equity
Karen Hawley Miles, President & Executive Director, Education Resource Strategies
José Luis Rodríguez, Founder & CEO, Hispanic Information and Telecommunications Network, Inc.
Sara Mead, Associate Partner, Bellwether Education Partners
Eduardo Martí, Vice Chancellor of Community Colleges, CUNY
Thomas Kane, Professor of Education & Economics, Harvard Graduate School of Education
Jean Desravines,CEO, New Leaders
Michael Horn, Executive Director & Co-Founder, InnoSight Institute
Chancellor Nancy Zimpher, Chancellor, SUNY
Chancellor Matthew Goldstein, Chancellor, CUNY
John B. King, Jr., Commissioner, New York State Education Department
Senator John Flanagan, Chair, Senate Education Committee
Assembly Member Cathy Nolan, Chair, Assembly Education Committee

The hearing is open to the public.

For more information on the commission, visit http://www.governor.ny.gov/press/4302012EducationReformCommission

posted on: 8/9/2012