News from the Heights

If you need more information, call Le Moyne's Office of Communications at 315-445-4555 or contact via email Joe Della Posta or Molly McCarthy.

Read past issues of the magazine



Faculty Convocation at Le Moyne College Honors Academic Excellence

SYRACUSE, N.Y. (For Immediate Release) … Le Moyne College celebrated faculty excellence at its spring convocation ceremony, held Wed., April 22, in the Campus Center by presenting several awards, including a surprise presentation to honor Dr. Louis DeGennaro, who is celebrating his 60th year at Le Moyne.


Before presenting the awards, Dr. Linda LeMura addressed the gathering. “For many in our society, this is a confusing and frightening time. It is precisely at such moments in history as this that the liberal arts education becomes ever more crucial to our future. Our future as a society will depend upon us working together collectively to expand the promise of opportunity, justice and success for all, while respecting the individual right to define that success.”

Dr. DeGennaro was present for the unveiling of a plaque that will be placed outside a biology laboratory in the new science complex in his honor in recognition of 60 years of exemplary service to the College.

The Joseph C. Georg Endowed Professorship was presented to Dr. Karmen MacKendrick, professor of philosophy. One of four endowed professorships at Le Moyne, it was presented by the previous Georg Professor, Dr. Mario Saenz. It is a three-year professorship.

Also honored:

Theresa M. White, associate professor of psychology, as The Rev. Richard M. McKeon, S.J. Scholar of the Year

White has presented her work nationally and internationally at conferences, her research drawing connections between seemingly diverse fields of study and blending basic science, cognitive psychology and experimental social psychology.


Ronald H. Wright, professor of business administration, as The Rev. Msgr. A. Robert Casey Teacher of the Year

Wright was honored for his collaborative teaching relationships, curricular improvements and outstanding leadership in creating productive and innovative learning environments for students.


Patricia R. Schmidt, professor of education, with The Rev. Robert E. O’Brien, S.J., Service Award

Schmidt has been a tireless champion for literacy, serving on 20 community boards and councils, leading workshops and co-chairing social justice conferences. She has secured thousands of dollars in grants for social entrepreneurship, worked with the Cathedral Academy at Pompei and alongside Le Moyne students in Dominica.


Beth F. Mitchell, professor of biological sciences, with The Louis D. DeGennaro, Ph.D. Undergraduate Mentor Award

Mitchell, a dedicated molecular biologist, presides over a research program that produces results comparable to any graduate laboratory. Her undergraduate students have presented at national and international meetings, benefiting from her unwavering support.


James A. Krisher, adjunct instructor of religious studies, as Outstanding Part-time Faculty Member of the Year

Krisher has been inspiring students at Le Moyne for 25 years. His courses on Christian spirituality are one of the department’s most popular offerings. Director of the Spiritual Renewal Center in Syracuse, Krisher’s signature interest has been adult spiritual formation. The award is given to adjuncts who have furthered the mission of Le Moyne, while also serving as practitioners, scholars and teachers in their fields of academic expertise.



posted on: 4/23/2009