Department News

Summer Research in Austria
Junior chemistry major Brian Wilson has secured a place in the iREU program (International Research Experience for Undergraduates) run by Syracuse University and the University of Graz, Austria. He will spend the summer doing chemical research in Graz. Wilson also earned an honorable mention in the national competition for Goldwater scholarships in science, mathematics, and engineering.

Faculty Publications
Carmen Giunta, professor of chemistry, had a paper published in the Journal of Chemical Education: "What's in a Name? Amount of Substance, Chemical Amount, and Stoichiometric Amount." The same journal published his book review of Peter Morris's, The Matter Factory: A History of the Chemistry Laboratory (2016, 93(2), pp 223-224).

Summer Research at NIST
Junior chemistry major James Gayvert has earned a Summer Undergraduate Fellowship at the National Institute of Standards and Technology in Gaithersburg, Maryland.

Le Moyne Hosts Science Olympiad
Le Moyne College hosted Science Olympiad competitions for high school students at both the regional and state levels (Jan. 30 and March 11-12, respectively). Chemistry professor Carmen Giunta was site coordinator for both events and MC for the regional awards ceremony. Associate professor of chemistry Anna O'Brien was among the Le Moyne faculty who fielded questions from competitors in a round of "Stump the Profs" at the state competition.

Conference Presentation
Carmen Giunta presented an invited paper and a poster in the history of chemistry portion of the 251st national meeting of the American Chemical Society in San Diego on March 14. The presentations were titled, "Dmitri Mendeleev's Nobel-prize-losing Research.”

Chemistry Faculty Present at National Conference

Two members of the Le Moyne chemistry faculty made presentations in the chemical education portion of the 250th national meeting of the American Chemical Society in Boston on Sunday, Aug. 16. Joe Mullins participated in the poster session, presenting a poster entitled, "Standardizing representations of electrons and electron movement." Carmen Giunta gave a talk titled, "The periodic table: highlights from the history of an icon," in a session for high school teachers.

Paper Published in Educational Journal

Carmen Giunta, professor of chemistry, had a paper published in the Journal of Chemical Education: "The Mole and Amount of Substance in Chemistry and Education: Beyond Official Definitions."

Club President of the Year

Senior chemistry major and chemistry club president Allen Prusinowski received the 2015 Dolphin Choice award for Club President of the Year.

"Why We Do What We Do"

Two members of the chemistry faculty, Theresa Beaty and Joseph Mullins, wrote essays for the collection Why We Do What We Do: Essays by Le Moyne College Faculty, edited by Maura Brady and published in Fall 2014. Theresa Beaty's essay is titled "Why Do I Teach Biochemistry?" and Joseph Mullins's is "The Light of the Guiding Moon."

McDevitt Undergraduate Fellows

Senior Allen Prusinowski and sophomore Brian Wilson, both chemistry majors, are among the 10 students selected as McDevitt Undergraduate Fellows in Natural Science for the 2014-15 academic year. Each McDevitt Fellow works closely with a Le Moyne faculty mentor while conducting hands-on research in one of Le Moyne's labs or in the field. In addition, the fellows and their mentors will participate in a monthly research seminar led by George Coyne S.J., McDevitt Chair in physics, at which they will present their research and discuss its progress. This prestigious fellowship includes a $4,000 stipend. Dr. Joseph Mullins and Dr. Anna O'Brien are the faculty mentors of Prusinowski and Wilson, respectively.

Le Moyne Syracuse Partnership

A partnership between Syracuse University and Le Moyne College in undergraduate chemistry research was highlighted in Syracuse University Arts and Sciences News. Among the Le Moyne chemistry people pictured or quoted are Prof. Anna O'Brien and senior chemistry majors Cody Webb and Alan Prusinowski. President Linda Le Mura, Kate Costello-Sullivan (dean of arts and sciences) and Philip George (director of major and planned gifts) are also quoted in the story.