Impact Awards Preview Video

Keynote Speaker: Alan Brown

Our keynote speaker, Alan Brown, provides a preview of his speech planned for the Third Annual Impact Awards on March 7, 2022!


Impact Awards: Celebrating Arts and Culture

March 7, 2022, 6:00 p.m.

W. Carroll Coyne Center for the Performing Arts, Le Moyne College



Le Moyne College's Impact Awards celebrate those who work behind the scenes to produce, present, curate and/or teach the arts. These awards focus on recognizing the leaders, managers, teachers and community leaders who help to ensure art makes it to the eyes and ears of the communities they serve.

This year's keynote speaker will be Alan Brown, a leading researcher and management consultant in the arts and culture sector worldwide. To learn more about our guest, please click here.

2022 Impact Award Recipients:

Arts Board Member of the Year | Joel Potash
Ticket Chair, Society for New Music

Artist as Manager | Larry Luttinger
Executive Director, CNY Jazz Central

Arts Educator of the Year | Mary Juman
Vocal/General Music Teacher, Ed Smith Pre K-8 School

Arts Education Administrator of the Year | Carol Dumka
Arts in Education Coordinator, Herkimer BOCES

Arts Manager of the Year - Small Organization | Michelle Connelly
Executive Director, Earlville Opera House

Arts Manager of the Year - Large Organization | Stephen Butler
Executive Director, CNY Arts

Award Categories:

  • Arts Manager of the Year - For an arts and culture administrator (of any size organization) who has guided their organization with exceptional skill.
  • Arts Board Member of the Year - For a member of the board of directors of an arts and culture organization who has provided exceptional service and leadership.
  • Newcomer of the Year - For an arts administrator who is new to the region and has made a positive impact in a short period of time.
  • Artist as Manager - For a practicing visual or performing artist who also works as an arts manager.
  • Arts Educator of the Year - For a K-12 arts educator who has demonstrated extraordinary commitment to their students and community.

Click here for full criteria.

Award Eligibility:

Arts managers, board members, and educators must work within the New York State counties of Cortland, Herkimer, Madison, Oneida, Onondaga or Oswego.

For the purposes of these awards, arts managers (also known as arts administrators) are defined as those who provide today’s artists with the framework, resources, and support that they need in order to create works of art. Such work may be done within an organization, through an artist collective, as individuals in the community, or in any context that provides support to artists.

If working within an organization, arts managers in both the for-profit and not-for-profit sectors are eligible to be nominated for the Arts Manager of the Year, Newcomer of the Year, and Artist as Manager awards.

Click here for a list of prior award recipients.

Community Partner:


Questions on this program may be directed to: Travis Newton, Associate Professor